Member News, WMSBF News

WMSBF Announces 2015 Hall of Fame Class, Sustainable Business of Year Nominees  

TBL Flier (2)_Page_2West Michigan Sustainable Business Forum will honor local sustainability practitioners and businesses at its Second Annual Triple Bottom Line Bash on Thursday, November 5.

The forum announced that four professionals will be inducted into its Sustainable Business Hall of Fame. Chosen by a vote of the forum membership, the 2015 class includes Renae Hesselink of Nichols, David Rinard of Steelcase, Rich Vanderveen of Mackinaw Power and designer Tom Newhouse. A lifetime achievement award, the Hall of Fame honors individual practitioners that have made the greatest contribution to sustainable business in West Michigan.

Nominees for the West Michigan Sustainable Business of the Year include Aquinas College, BIFMA, Brewery Vivant, Busy Bea’s, Clothing Matters, Direct Trade Coffee Club, Goodwill of Greater Grand Rapids, Habitat for Humanity of Kent County, Herman Miller, Steelcase.  The winner will be announced at the event.

Nominees were chosen by a committee comprised of past Hall of Fame honorees George Heartwell and Bill Stough, past WMSBF presidents Gabe Wing, Carol Parsaca, Su Paauwe, and Jennifer Wammack, and WMSBF Director Daniel Schoonmaker. Other nominees included Guy Bazzani, Norm Christopher, Gayle DeBruyn, Deb Steketee and Keith Winn.

Tickets for the award gala are now for sale at The Triple Bottom Line Bash will also feature The Green Family Feud, a show hosted by local comedian Dave Dyer.